We are Traditional Owners of the Lake Eyre Basin.

We want to exercise our cultural authority to ensure the healthy future of the rivers, floodplains, and groundwater of our country.

As the Traditional Owners of the Lake Eyre Basin, we have worked hard for many generations to ensure the rivers, floodplains and groundwater of our country are protected for the future.

Together, we are leading the Lake Eyre Basin Traditional Owners to assert their inherited rights for country.

We advocate for local Traditional Owners to help develop an economic base for growth, that reflects the cultural, environmental, and heritage values of the Lake Eyre Basin.

Over the years, we have engaged in government consultation processes, seen advisory panels appointed and legislation come and go.

With the disasters now unfolding in the neighbouring Murray-Darling basin, we believe it has never been more important to stand together and advocate for our rights and responsibilities to protect and care for our country, the Lake Eyre Basin.

With a recent State Government announcement that targeted consultation will soon commence for a new round of proposed regulatory changes, we are making our voices heard.

Channel Country Lake Eyre Basin

In 2019, representatives from a number of Traditional Owner groups throughout the Lake Eyre Basin came together for the Lake Eyre Basin Traditional Owners Alliance.

This meeting was initiated and organised by Traditional Owners from the Lake Eyre Basin. The outcomes of the meeting included:

  • We endorsed three key statements made by Traditional Owners of the Lake Eyre Basin (The Tibooburra Resolution 2011, The Our Water, Our Future Statement (2019), and the ‘Healthy Water, Healthy Future Statement (2019)
  • We defined our shared values for the waterways, above and underground, for the Lake Eyre Basin
  • We articulated our position on the Queensland Government’s Pristine Rivers election commitment- we want our rivers to remain free-flowing and our floodplains protected from fracking.  
  • We resolved to continue to stand together as the Lake Eyre Basin Traditional Owners Alliance.

Our statements:

2019 Lake Eyre Basin Interim Task Force Members
Mark Wallace – Boonthamurra Aboriginal Corporation
Shane Kemp – The Dieri Aboriginal Corporation
George Gorringe – Mithaka
Frank Button – Koa (not pictured)

If you have any questions or would like to know more about how you can best support this work, please contact us: